Many Faces of Online Learning

I have to be honest, I am a bit older so much of my own schooling was done with classroom teaching with no technology.  As I progressed and started my Masters Program I began to use more technology, and blended learning.  This blended learning started with two classes using half in classroom , and half the classes online –  creating posts and replying to posts.  This current course I feel is as Bates described – hybrid of flexible learning using specific face to face teaching for anything that cannot be done satisfactorily online.  I am currently teaching in a four year nursing degree program through Saskatchewan Polytechnic and University of Regina. I also mark for an online program for Internationally Educated Nurses through Saskatchewan Polytechnic.  When marking for this program I use totally online marking.  Questions are answered by students and submitted to me for marking.  I do find when there is a video involved in the case study there is more relevance for the student and myself.  I agree with the blog written by Adam Krammer   He indicated that using videos can have both negative and positive outcomes.  I personally tend to find more positive than negative.  Here is a you tube regarding tips for video for online courses.

I do enjoy doing interactive programs such as Kahoots with online learning.  I use them in my class regularly and students seem to respond positively.  They state they like them and it opens up dialogue on certain topics.

Simulation has been a positive aspect in my teaching career.  The high fidelity simulation gives a realistic view of what a condition is like in a life like mannequin.  Simulation allows participants to purposely undertake high-risk activities or procedural tasks within a safe environment without dangerous implications to themselves or their patients.   It allows people to learn from errors and positive situations.  Learners address hands-on and thinking skills, including knowledge-in-action, procedures, decision-making, and effective communication. The scenarios can be repeated as many times as necessary.  Feedback can be given to learners immediately and allow them to understand exactly what went wrong / right and how they can improve. Simulation can be expensive. Some students take the scenario personally and have a hard time to handle the negativity of the situation. This is an example of high fidelity simulation.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Many Faces of Online Learning

  1. Pingback: Digital resources for online and blended learning – roxanneleungsblog

  2. Great post!! For someone who went from a non tech world to a world full of technology you are doing a wonderful job!! I love reading your posts as I like reading from the nursing perspective, it changes things up a bit. The simulation sounds like a wonderful learning tool that I myself would definitely benefit from, like many things now days it all comes down to cost! 🙂

    Like

  3. I completely agree that simulations are essential for learning, particularly in practical situations like nursing. Even when “practical” situations are not the main outcome, I think simulations make learning more engaging; if people can do things, they normally remember it better and understand it more completely. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Bates… Our Then VS Our Now! – jaymeleelazorko

Leave a Reply

