Tools for Online Education

We are now midway through the semester and using various tools for online education. This was my first time using zoom. I did find easy to work with, which is a plus for me as I am not very tech savvy. I have used Skype in the past with success also.  I have to admit I am not really familiar with twitter.  Twitter has been a challenge for me.  I personally do not find it user friendly – but that maybe due to a lack of familiarity with this program.  I did find this you tube helpful.

At this point in time I dont feel I would use twitter in my classroom due to my unfamiliarity with it.  I do mark for internationally educated nurses from all over the world. The frustration I have is that I don`t get that face to face interaction.  The students see my name and my picture but really have no idea about me. The same goes for me and each student I mark the assignments for.   It is exciting when I get to meet them when they come here for their practical experience.  This is not organized and sometimes is by chance that I get to meet them. The online program I currently use has a drop box where the students submit their assignments.  I mark each assignment and send it back to them through these drop boxes.  I find it impersonal , and not able to always give the feedback I may give if it was in person. Kahoots are interesting for students.  I have used them in my class with good success.  I believe the inter-activeness of them provides interest  to the students.  Google +  works well for me. It is easy to work with . I do find if the application is easy to work with, I will gravitate towards it more.   Google Docs  also provides an easy application that can be used by multiple users and can be accessed easily on any device.

One thought on “Tools for Online Education

Leave a Reply

