Teaching Philosophy and Classroom practice

I have to admit I grew up in an era when I went to the little small town I resided in, the teachers used a combination of behaviorism and cognitivism theories to teach with. Many of the concepts at that time were centered around practice and reinforcement.  I remember also using my memory to recite many poems, stories, mathematical equations.  According to the cognitive theorist, a  transfer is function of how information is stored in memory.  As (Thompson, Simonson & Hargrave, 1992) stated ” A behaviorist uses feedback to modify behavior in the desired direction, while cognitivists  make use feedback  to guide and support accurate mental connections.” Congnitive theories make knowledge meaningful and help learners organize and relate new information to memory.   I now teach the four year baccalaureate program for nursing.  I believe I tend to use a combination of the cognitive theory and constructivism.

I tend to look at the characteristics of the adult learner and base my teachings around their need.  With this theory knowledge “is a function of how the individual creates meaning from his or her own experiences” ( Ertmer & Newby, 2013, pg. 55).   I also tend to use the Cognitive theory where I try to make knowledge meaningful, and help learners relate to this information.  Sharing personal encounters from being a nurse for 35 years helps to create this environment.  I believe the learner is an active processor of information.                ( Duffy & Jonassen, 1999). As the literature states apprenticeships and on the job training professions often utilize the constructive theory.  I do agree we need to evaluate each learner to determine what style would work best for the situation, depending on where the learners knowledge base resides at. We need to evaluate to determine the most effective theory to master the tasks given.

 

Leave a Reply

